The Porterhouse at Fraunces Tavern held a weeklong celebration honoring entrepreneur Samuel Fraunces’s purchase of the Tavern’s home at 54 Pearl Street. The celebration marks the creation of the 18th century tavern, and the honorary festivities ran from September 17th through 23rd and included a special museum exhibit with multiple beer tastings and samplings.
Fraunces Tavern Bar, Restaurant, and Museum consists of five buildings with nine galleries, including the famous Long Room where George Washington bade a solemn farewell to the Continental Army on December 4th, 1783. The Tavern has become a landmark in New York, transitioning from local colonial tavern, to government house, to offices of the Treasury and Foreign Affairs, and finally to a historical landmark.
The Fraunces Tavern celebration, entitled 1762 – 2012, also included free Museum admission with the purchase of an restaurant entrée. The Fraunces Tavern Museum houses an extensive and wide collection of over 3,000 Colonial America, Revolutionary War, and Early Republic artifacts including the world’s largest collection of John Ward Dunsmore paintings. The celebration unveiled a rare look at the original lease agreement of the tavern in 1762 as well as an actual lock of George Washington’s Hair.
Finally, the celebration culminated with a unique beer tasting battle between the breweries of New England and Old England. Home brewed beers and various new samples gave guests a medley of tastes, colors, and styles of beer. Check out the variety of home brewed ales and stouts check out the The Porterhouse at Fraunces Tavern.